Welcome to our blog

Hi and welcome to our blog!

We created this blog in 2014 because we believe that the analysis of Swedish politics is too often dominated by (a) people who do not actually study the issues that they comment on and (b) that most commentators are not very apt at placing Swedish politics in a comparative and cross-national context. For the second purpose, we also want to make it possible for students of Swedish politics from outside of Sweden to join the discussion. Most of our posts will be in Swedish, but some of the post will be written in English as we believe many of the topics raised in this blog will be of interest for a wider (non-Swedish speaking) audience. Blogging will be more frequent in times of government formation, but we will nevertheless post continuous commentary and analyses of political events, as well as important background information. Let’s see if we can make a contribution on both of the points above. If not, we will simply shut down the blog, we promise!

The blog’s current Editorial board consists mainly of researchers engaged in research projects of governments, coalitions and political parties in parliamentary democracies. These are, in alphabetical order:

Anders Backlund, PhD in Political Science, Södertörn University.

Torbjörn Bergman, Professor in Political Science, Umeå University.

Niklas Bolin, Associate Professor in Political Science, Mid Sweden University.

Hanna Bäck, Professor in Political Science, Lund University.

Johan Hellström, Associate Professor in Political Science, Umeå University.

Ann-Cathrine Jungar, Associate Professor in Political Science, Södertörn University.

Daniel WaltherPhD in Political Science (previously working at Umeå University).

Are you a researcher or a graduate student and want to write a guest post for the blog? In such cases, please contact the ”Editor in Chief”/ webmaster Johan Hellström.